The Archbishop’s Seminary of Oristano, named after Santa Maria Assunta, was inaugurated by Archbishop Francesco Masones in 1712.
But already in 1746, it was demolished and then completely rebuilt with a more modern architecture with large halls, corridors and windows that are still today to be admired in the present structure.
In the new reconstruction a new chapel dedicated to the Immaculate Conception was built, and a beautiful library which has since preserved unique and rare artefacts of great historical and cultural interest.
Between 1876 and 1910 the Seminary of Oristano was expanded and the double limestone staircase was also built today, still present at the seminary.
Here the map to the Archbishop’s Seminary of Oristano: